Eid returns to Chonburi, again

I lost track of how many times Eid returned to Chonburi in the course of the time I worked with DVB in Chiang Mai. To be honest, it suited me fine to have so much time to myself, as I found the job stressful and at the end of the day, all I wanted was to have a quick dinner and an early night. But I knew it was hard on Eid, having to go back and forth every month or two, as it involved a tiring overnight bus ride each time. The saddest part was that she probably felt that she was doing me a favor by being away. After I was offered the new job, I told her it was only temporary, and that she shouldn’t get the idea that we were moving back to Chiang Mai to stay. I think she felt this meant that she should continue to think of Chonburi, and not Chiang Mai, as her real home. But at the same time, we were also planning a trip back to Canada — our first together since we got married 10 years earlier — and I was seriously considering making it a permanent move. So Eid, in the final year of her life, was less certain about her future and where she would call home than she had been at any time in the years since we first met in 1999.  Still, she did her best to help her family and make sure that I was OK, mostly on my own, in Chiang Mai. It was a hard way for her to have to live, and it saddens me deeply to know that I never gave her the home that she had always longed for. Screenshot_2020-06-25 It's my last day in Chiang Mai with my hubby - Eid Kanchanawaha-Nelson

I think some of our friends and family probably wondered why Eid spent so much time returning to her hometown. There was always some ostensible reason, but the truth was that her life had been completely destabilized, largely as a result of my actions.

Screenshot_2020-06-25 It's my last day in Chiang Mai with my hubby - Eid Kanchanawaha-Nelson(1)Screenshot_2020-06-25 It's my last day in Chiang Mai with my hubby - Eid Kanchanawaha-Nelson(2)Screenshot_2020-06-25 It's my last day in Chiang Mai with my hubby - Eid Kanchanawaha-Nelson(3)

Here is the complete set of photos:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Facebook posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment