The Takinos

I’ve been going through some old papers and found these items from my days in Kyoto. The photo shows me with my landlord and his wife at a restaurant they took me to just before I left Japan. He also gave me a printout of photos of my apartment and the area where I lived as a memento of my nearly five years there. We spoke in Japanese whenever we met, but his written messages were always in the same meticulous English that he used here. The last item is an envelope containing a one-yen coin — the exact amount I overpaid when I handed him my rent one month (I always paid in person and in cash).

Some comments:

Fullscreen capture 7172017 101944 AM

 

 

This entry was posted in Facebook posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

