Critters

These are some of the critters I’ve uncovered recently while cleaning up the garden in front of the house. I see at least five or six scorpions a day, so I’m starting to get used to them, but that centipede brought back some nasty memories. I was once bitten by one in my sleep when I lived in Kyoto. I thought I had stubbed my toe really hard on something, until I realized that I was still lying down in my futon; when I turned on the light, I saw it scurrying across the tatami like some kind of vision from hell (or a Takashi Shimizu horror movie). I kind of like the look of that snake, but since I couldn’t be sure it wasn’t venomous, I kept my distance. All I know is it looked pretty comfortable curled up in the cracked old flower pot where I found it.

This entry was posted in Facebook posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

